PVR Full of Shows

This past week was not particularly dramatic, but it was very busy. And as always, it was every bit as mundane as I’ve come to expect. I’ve been working longer hours, and then coming home and working because there’s so much going on. Twice this week I didn’t even eat lunch. I kept my face glued to the monitor while my two typing fingers furiously punched out emails. It seemed like every night this week before I knew it quitting time was rolling around, and there was still a myriad of other “tasks” to accomplish.

On one of the days that I missed lunch I wound up hoovering my sandwich at the bus stop. After peeling myself away from my desk, and clumping down the hallway to the elevator I could hear a very distinct rumbling brewing in my tummy. The kind of rumbling that sends your overly pious neighbour scrambling for an exorcist. Although, that rumble when coupled with a smelly Metallica t-shirt and   the gaunt lifeless eyes I’m usually sporting by the end of the week would be cause for alarm to normal folks.

Once I got outside and walked up the street to the bus stop I could ignore that rumble no longer. I opened my backpack and prodded around for the tupperware container with the neatly kiddie-cornered chicken salad sandwich stowed inside. I ravaged that poor thing, it really didn’t stand a chance. As I stood there in the cold devouring my sandwich, I realized that while I had been working so much this week I would have the pleasure of going home to a fully loaded PVR.

I love television. There are so many hilarious, intriguing, mysterious, frightening, real, bizarre, and wonderful things on television nowadays. I will admit that I am so fond of television because it satiates my gluttonous imagination. I love good stories, challenges, characters, and timing. I’m madly hooked on the catharsis that my television is readily able to provide at the end of a long, boring ass work week.

What did I stockpile on my PVR this week you ask? The list is:

  1. How I Met Your Mother
  2. The Big Bang Theory
  3. My Strange Addiction
  4. Desperate Housewives
  5. The Walking Dead
  6. Talking Dead
  7. 30 Rock
  8. Supersize Me
  9. Taxi Driver
  10. Eastbound & Down
  11. Life’s Too Short
  12. The Office
  13. The Celebrity Apprentice
  14. Comic Book Men
  15. Cougar Town
  16. Four Weddings
  17. Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired
  18. Midnight Cowboy
  19. Modern Family
  20. Dogs 101
  21. Curb Your Enthusiasm

Please note that this is not necessarily a list of my favourite television shows. This list is merely a demonstration of the depths of my escapism. You will also notice that I am partial to sit-coms. Every waking moment in life could be turned into a scene from a sit-com if handled appropriately. I also grabbed a couple of old movies I haven’t seen in a while and don’t have on dvd.

Everything you need for a long weekend of willfully transcending reality is right here. I didn’t realize how many things I had set out to record until Sunday night when I reviewed the list. I literally squealed with delight when I remembered that I have Monday off thanks to the long weekend. I had a lot going on this weekend, so I didn’t know when I’d even have the chance to catch up.

The endless scroll through the list of shows I’d recorded pumped pure awesomeness through my veins. My extra long hours and lunchless days have been vindicated at last!

And now hours later my tiresome imagination has been rightfully sated. Here, here to the fully loaded PVR! You have preserved my sanity once again and have provided me with the strength to carry forward through another average work week. To all you do, many thanks from this humble couch grazing girl.

Smash loves your feedback!

