A Moment’s Notice

I’ve mentioned this casually in past posts, but I have to reiterate how much I love this: a moment’s notice.

That’s all it takes for a good time when you’re living in the city. Since I’ve been living in the big T I’ve been able to do so much stuff that I wouldn’t have been able to do as easily before. People shoot me a text or email and I’m able to go “Sure, I’d love to!” within seconds. It’s becoming a wonderfully bad habit of mine, accepting last-minute invites. On numerous evenings this summer poor D has been stoked for a night in, all cuddled on the couch. Then, in flurry of frantic texts our night is suddenly a whirlwind of unexpected fun and he’s gotta get his game face on!

Or if he’s really that unwilling, I’ll just head out on my own. A couple of weeks ago on a Wednesday night I had resigned myself to sweatpants and the couch. Then out of nowhere a text from the Magpie to get my ass in some jeans and down to the Cloak & Dagger for night of live music and beers. I fought it at first, but partying won out in the end. Fuck the workday hangover the following Thursday! It was an awesome night, and an excellent decision.

I’ve gone to movies, parties, dinners, jays games, markets, hangouts, dance parties, and all manner of things at a moment’s notice this summer. And I haven’t regretted a single one, every event was totally worth the effort. Our finest achievement in last-minute events this summer was most certainly my friend Brad’s Z-day, which took place this past Friday night.

What’s a Z-day you ask? Only the best possible way to celebrate a birthday ever!

Brad’s girlfriend booked a movie theatre, The Projection Booth, for late night zombie movie screenings. But that’s not all! Everyone in attendance had to be decked out in full on zombie or zombie related costumes.

I sent Brad a happy birthday over Facebook on Friday morning, and then mid-Friday afternoon he responded letting me know about the party. We’d moved to the city in May and I knew that Brad was living downtown too, but we hadn’t yet been able to catch up. So it worked out perfectly that we were free this Friday. But now my mind was in over-drive because we only had half a day to get ready for this thing! I frantically texted D to tell him we were going to be getting dressed up as zombies for a birthday party, and that we needed to stock up on zombie gear for tonight. Needless to say, he was a little taken aback, but excited nonetheless.

So after work, we got to planning. D isn’t much of a costumes guy. He likes doing the costume thing, but only if it’s easy. He doesn’t want to wear anything ridiculous, he won’t go for makeup or hair dye, doesn’t do masks or wigs, and generally likes to keep it simple. After thinking about it for a bit I came up with the idea of him going as Shaun from Shaun of the Dead. And then I would do the zombie thing. Easy enough, right?

We hit the subway and I grabbed some makeup, fake blood, and a wound from the costume shop at Yonge and Wellesley. For D’s costume all we needed was a short-sleeved white button down shirt, a red tie, and a name tag. He didn’t have the shirt, so we had to improvise. We took one of his long-sleeved white shirts and cut the arms off. We used an old shirt that he doesn’t really wear anymore. And after an eternity spent trying to make myself look undead, I think the results were quite impressive:

Not too shabby for only half a day’s notice!

I started to really get into the role, you know, terrorizing the cat and whatnot….

Mmmm, kitten brains!

So we had a couple of drinks at our place, then hopped on the public transit! Which was especially fun for me, because while people didn’t take much notice of D I got some spectacularly stunned looks from passersby. I mean it’s not everyday you see the undead riding the Yonge line:

People have seen worse on the subway sure, but this is still unexpected…

The theatre was magnificent. It was small, dark, and creaky in a cozy way. The smell of popcorn and fake blood filled our nostrils as soon as we stepped through the door. I was finally in the presence of my own kind, and all the sideways glances and slack-jawed gaping was behind me. It was so much fun admiring the other costumes, catching up with old friends, and posing for photos.

My favourite costume was by far the guy who decided to do a Plants vs. Zombies thing:

I loved the hat!

It was a unique take on the theme, and really stood out. I also really liked Brad and his girlfriend Lin’s costumes. They put forth and extraordinary effort, and were fantastic hosts!

They’ve been through hell and back, literally

Lin had been planning this event for months. So the other guests had plenty of time to plan their costumes and prepare them. We had very little notice, but we did the best we could, given the circumstances. We had a truly fantastic time. I’m pretty sure everyone else did too…

Fright Night in the city

So when opportunity knocks, just lunge for its tasty brains like a famished, undead abomination of all that is holy and pure! Life is for the (un)living, and you’ll have plenty of time to    stay in, snuggled on the couch when the actual zombie apocalypse happens. In which case, maybe all the couch grazing will finally pay off and this post was all for naught… hmmm.

Nah, I’m sticking with it. Get out there and live your life, dammit!

Smash loves your feedback!

