Star Wars: Episode VII-A True Hope

I’ve been mulling this over for the past couple of weeks. I didn’t want to speak out too soon and risk having my opinions only reflect shock and disbelief. But now that I’ve had the appropriate amount of time to digest, I feel I can write about this rationally.

If you live, work, or breathe within the general vicinity of the internet then you’ve surely heard by now. Disney bought Lucasfilm. And not only did they buy Lucasfilm, they’ve made it quite clear that we can expect a 7th Star Wars film in 2015.

This is some serious jaw-dropping shit.

When I first heard, I really didn’t know what to think. Shock, awe, fear, concern, grief, and doubt were the first feelings out of the gates. And man did those negative emotions really tear up the track on their way to the finish. I mean, this is Star Wars, this is serious stuff.

I fell madly in love with the original trilogy when I was a little girl. Unfortunately, I never got to see episodes IV, V, or VI in theatres as I was born in the late 80’s. By the time I was ready for my first taste of a galaxy far, far away it was brought to me courtesy of VHS. But it was love at first viewing! And there was so much to love: the characters, the story, the costumes, the lightsabers, the heroes and villains, the veritable well of strange and otherworldly beings that partied it up at Mos Eisley Cantina… It was a burgeoning sci-fi geek’s wet dream! Not that I have those or anything… weird.

The Star Wars universe is so rich with information, there were endless possibilities for my inflamed 6-year old’s imagination. I would spend hours perfectly content, rebelling against the Empire in my daydreams. I used to pretend that I lost my hand in a devastating “lifesaver” battle and had to get a mechanical replacement. (It took me a while to realize that they were actually called lightsabers, but you can see how a child might make that mistake.)

If only I could have been so lucky…

Then something truly devastating did happen. Star Wars: Episode I-The Phantom Menace was released. I spent the months leading up to it feverishly bouncing off the walls. When it finally came time to see it, I was prepared. Armed with my Phantom Menace emblazoned Doritos and Mountain Dew, my body was thrumming with anticipation for what would be the greatest theatre going experience of my life to date.

Then I had the misfortune of actually seeing the movie. Wow, what a miserable waste of my allowance that was! I was letdown, but that’s okay, I still had the original trilogy to fall back on. No matter how many disappointing Star Wars movies are made, I will always have that.

So the first thing that came to mind when I heard about the new Star Wars movie was, naturally, disappointment. Especially because I know that no matter what, I’ll still waste my hard-earned money on a ticket to see it in theatres. I can kiss that 20 bucks goodbye as I write this very sentence…

Suddenly, in the wake of all those negative feelings about a new Star Wars movie, something happened. Hope, though initially slow out of the gate, got in the pod race. I considered Batman, and how horribly cartoonish and lame the Schumacher films had been. From the rubber nipple-suit ashes, Nolan had created a new life for the Caped Crusader. Batman got his cinematic dignity back, as he so rightfully deserved.

So who was to say that the same miracle of resurrection couldn’t happen within the realm of Star Wars? Maybe things have to get worse before they can get better. Maybe all this time Phantom Menace had been a necessary evil. The more I mulled over the idea of a new Star Wars movie, the more excited I got. This new film has the potential to become the greatest theatre going experience of my life to date, if I so permit it the opportunity.

I can spend the next three years bemoaning another potential disaster, or I can get excited. And after giving this much careful consideration, I choose to be fucking excited! It’s a much more productive use of my time. And if I spend my time sending the people at the helm of this venture my good vibes, maybe karma will reward me. Handsomely, I hope, with a badass new take on my beloved Star Wars.

If the world doesn’t implode at the end of 2012, then I’ll be at the theatre on opening weekend. Laden with my advance purchase tickets, delicious Star Wars marketed snacks, and a true hope for the future of this franchise.

If Star Wars has taught me anything throughout my countless viewing hours, it’s that good certainly can triumph over evil if given the chance.

May the force be with you, Disney.

2 thoughts on “Star Wars: Episode VII-A True Hope

Smash loves your feedback!

