Saturday Fake Out

Looks a little different around here doesn’t it?

Well, a reader whom I shall not name, told me that my blog styling was what barf turned into an internet page would look like. And that was either just blatant insensitive opinion or an attempt to help. I’ll take it as an attempt at help, although feelings are still mildly bruised. Not one to be easily swayed by the influence of others, I did give this opinion considerable thought before making the update. I thought the old look was bright and fun. Barfing is fun sometimes right? Like last weekend when I barfed on my aunt and uncles lawn after the jack ‘n’ jill… well maybe not fun so much as a funny anecdote for the co-workers after the fact. (Sorry about that btw wonderful aunt and uncle! Thankfully it thunder stormed 20 minutes later and washed most of it away. Rest assured next time I will be a much more refined houseguest, er, drive-way trailer guest!) Anyways, I finally reasoned that if I want more readers maybe a change would help. Good taste is subjective, but barf is universal so updated blog page it is!

Now that we’ve settled that matter, time to get to the goods! This was not a particularly eventful week, it was mainly just getting back the grind and all. But it felt really long. It felt like Friday was taking forever! So much so, that I actually faked myself out on Friday morning when I woke up thinking it was Saturday! I woke up at about 4:30am because I was having a nightmare about a massive fucking tarantula crawling up my legs. I may have mentioned in past posts that I have a very vivid imagination. When I have nightmares it takes me a long time to shake the imagery out of my brain. Every time I closed my eyes I would see the tarantula tormenting me in a new more horrific way than the last. Also, tarantulas are my worst fear EVER. So thanks a lot subconscious for being such a dick at 4:00am when a girl’s just trying to get a little beauty rest!

I tossed and turned for a bit and then finally got back into a deliciously deep slumber. A few hours later when D shook me awake, I rolled over and looked at the clock and saw 7:02am. Poor D. He was greeted with “what’s your fucking problem? it’s Saturday!” To which he replied, “Um, no. It’s Friday babe, time for work…” Oops!

I faked myself out! I had to drag my tired ass into work for one more day before the weekend. When I told my boss he laughed and laughed, it was quite a riot for him. Although it kind of sucked, there is an upside to this because the feeling carried forward all weekend. Saturday felt like Sunday but it wasn’t, and Sunday felt like a wicked free day for no reason! And the most wonderful thing of all this weekend? I did not have ANY plans. None.

The past couple of weekends I’ve had a lot of stuff going on: birthdays, bachelorettes, jack ‘n’ jills, jays games, family functions, the works! I enjoy an active social life, but sometimes I like to slow down a bit too. I took the “free day” sensation and just let it roll…

First thing, Friday night I called the spa and got booked for a pedicure on Saturday afternoon. Perfection! See for yourself…

Nothing like a bright, beautiful shade of red to freshen my little piggys! These girls are good to go to market indeed.

Also, D and I took a trip down to the good ole Bloor and Landsdowne neighbourhood to peruse the local thrift shops. There was tons of amazing stuff! I love cruising through the aisles for 90’s CDs, sweet graphic tees, obsolete technologies, rad home decor, and the like. The most amazing thing we stumbled upon was Velvet Veronica’s long-lost little sister whom I shall call Velour Valerie:

That’s right folks, Valerie is a love seat recliner. Isn’t she a beaut? Oh, snap! It’s too bad we couldn’t have found you back in the days that we inhabited 42 Hickory, you would have been a perfect fit!

To cap it all off, D and I also made the Herculean effort of hopping on the subway and doing our weekly grocery shop at the Loblaws at Yonge and Lawrence. Oh Loblaws! We’ve missed you so, and we promise we will never be tempted away again by Metro’s brazen and brassy proximity to our apartment. Well, we’ll see how we can do for the next couple of months. I can’t promise anything for wintertime when it’s biting cold out and I don’t want to leave the apartment at all… but for now Loblaws we be chillin’.

It may not sound like much, but it was glorious. The Saturday fake out, easiest way to dupe your stupid brain into the long weekend of its dreams!

Smash loves your feedback!

